Wiccan Holidays

wicca symbols

Wiccan holidays and festivals are mostly organized around natural events. Often, these holidays are called "sabbats." These include:

- full moons
- new moons
- cross-quarter days
- summer and winter solstices
- spring and autumn equinoxes

The names of these holidays draw on or coincide with the names and practices of older Germanic or Celtic holidays. Often they are combined and practiced simultaneously with current holidays in the contemporary culture.

For example, Wiccans will celebrate the winter solstice at that same time that others celebrate Christmas. Of course, the origins of holidays like Christmas and Easter can be traced back at least partially to those same, more ancient traditions.

Related Pages

  1. Home
  2. Wiccan Religion
  3. Wiccan Holidays

Here's how to link to this page on your blog or website . . .

Would you prefer to share this page with others by linking to it?

  1. Click on the HTML link code below.
  2. Copy and paste it, adding a note of your own, into your blog, a Web page, forums, a blog comment, your Facebook account, or anywhere that someone would find this page valuable.